top of page

Happy Mothers' Day

Happy Mothers Day to all of the Mama's out there. As a mother, it is our instinct to be a selfless, loving human who must sacrifice many of their wants and needs for the wants and needs of our children. A mother works hard to make sure their child is equipped with the knowledge, skills and abilities to make it as a competent human being. Wow! when you put it down on paper, we are pretty darn awesome, aren't we? Every Mother's day, I think about my Mom who I lost in 1999. It's hard to believe I am actually older than she was when she passed away. I miss her and wish I could share so much with her. I know she would be proud., she was a "spit fire", a personality that was larger than life, bubbly, fun and someone you would never want to upset, and most of all, she was

loved.

MOM

My Grandmother

My Grandma passed away when I was 22 years old. It was so hard for me, first because, I never experienced anyone in my family passing away and second, My grandmother was like my other mom, I spent a lot of time with her. I loved her so much, I remember sleeping at her house and she would make us a big rootbeer floats and we would watch movies together. I loved the smell of her house, and I can still smell it today. Mothballs, and watermelon. I know weird combo but in the summer she loved cut up fruit, and I remember her house was always so fresh and clean. It's so funny how the small things stay with you, Also, her Italian meatballs! I'll get to her recipe in a bit. As I got older, my cousin and I got to take her on her errands, Doctors appts, grocery shopping, and sometimes just going for a ride, I'm sure I would have preferred hanging with my friends, but I'm so glad I did that. I'm glad I got to spend that time with her. She always made me feel safe and loved. I miss her. It feels like a lifetime ago that I actually got to sit and talk with her. Until we meet again, I love you Grandma! xo

Grandma

Grandma's Spaghetti and Meatballs

(I'm sure I've tweaked it here and there)

Ingredients

2 cans of Pastene ground peeled tomatoes

1 small can of Pastene or Contadina tomato paste

6 peeled cloves of garlic

Olive oil

3lbs of ground beef

2 Bay leaves

2 tblsp of salt

2 tbsp of pepper

1/2 cup sugar

Coat large saucepan with olive oil., on medium heat , add 2 chopped cloves of garlic. cook & stir until golden brown, do not burn. (garlic taste awful when burnt)

add tomato paste, stir around.

Add salt & pepper

Add 1 1/2 cans of water. (Use ground peeled tomato can)

add 2 cans of ground peeled tomatoes, stir well.

Toss in Bay leaves

When it starts to come to a boil, add sugar.

reduce heat to low and cook for 45 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Meatballs

In large mixing bowl, add ground beef, 1 egg and enough breadcrumb until well mixed.

chop remaining garlic and add to mixture

start rolling meatballs to (desired size)

In large skillet coat with vegetable oil

add meatballs and fry until brown on each side

when meatballs are brown, add to paper towel to remove excess grease. Gently add meatballs to sauce.

Cook pasta. I use Ziti, but any kind will work.

Enjoy!!


bottom of page