top of page

Goodbye winter blues


I'm officially off of the couch.

Living in New England, lucky us, we get four seasons, the problem is, our Winter seems to be the longest of them all. My couch is sunken in, I have endless boxes of popcorn, cans of soup and hot cocoa packets in my cupboard, I even finished an afghan while hibernating., Ohh, and then came those Winter blues. No matter how hard you try to fight it, you end up catching them.

This past weekend, has been the best of yet., the temperature was comfortable, and we took the long drive to New Hampshire. I immediately felt those blues melt off of me, as we had the windows rolled down, wind blowing through my hair as we were taking the back roads to the most beautiful landscapes of rolling hills and country farm houses, AND the day was far from over as we headed back to town, the sun was still beaming brightly, we decided to take a walk along the ocean side of town. Freshly planted tulips on lawns and the smell of the salt water felt like home, summer was in the making. Soon our town will have an over abundance of tourists and the traffic will get heavy, but the energy will be contagious and the Winter blues will be gone!

I had worked just four hours this morning, watching the clock I could not wait to run out of the door and grab what was left of this gorgeous day! I was going to walk but opted for the windows down in my car and drove along the ocean side. Everybody was out today enjoying the weather. It's definitely a mood changer and my energy level was soaring. I just could not go inside until it was time to prep dinner.


bottom of page